T20 World Cup

Oman announce experienced 15-member group for T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup

Hit For Six!

Oman, the co-host of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, announced their 15-member squad for the tournament on Wednesday, 8 September.

The squad will be led by the veteran Zeeshan Maqsood, and features the core group of the experienced line-up that helped them excel in the Global Qualifier two years ago in UAE.

To add to the eleven players in the squad who turned out in the successful qualifying campaign, Ayaan Khan, Nester Dhamba, Khurram Khan and Sufyan Mehmood have earned World Cup call-ups, with the likes of spinners Jay Odedra and Aamir Kaleem making way.

Aayan Khan and Nester Dhamba make up a new-look spin attack for Oman, joining leg-spinning all-rounder Khawar Ali, who is also trusted at the top of the batting order. Sufyan has been on the fringes of the national team, playing four T20Is across a six-year international career.

With the bat, Oman are banking on their experience, with the attacking Jatinder Singh joining Khawar Ali, with captain Zeeshan Maqsood and Aqib Ilyas locked in for middle order roles. All-rounders Mohammad Nadeem and Sandeep Goud will likely partner ‘keeper Suraj Kumar in the death overs.

Oman tasted the top level of T20I cricket in 2016, when they made the first round of the T20 World Cup in India. They will bid to go one better this time around, and are aiming for a top-two spot in Group B, alongside Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea, playing all of their matches in familiar home conditions.

Hosting upcoming One Day Internationals as part of ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 action, Oman have kept sharp for the shortest format by hosting a Mumbai domestic side.

Full squad: Zeeshan Maqsood (c), Aqib Ilyas, Jatinder Singh, Khawar Ali, Mohammad Nadeem, Ayaan Khan, Suraj Kumar, Sandeep Goud, Nester Dhamba, Kaleemullah, Bilal Khan, Naseem Khushi, Sufyan Mehmood, Fayyaz Butt, Khurram Khan

Oman – ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021
Oman – ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021


More News