T20 World Cup

Tymal Mills returns as England unveil squad for ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021

T20 World Cup

Hit For Six!

Tymal Mills was among the 15-strong squad England announced on Thursday, 9 September for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021.

All ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 squads announced so far – CLICK HERE 

Mills last played a T20I in 2018, as part of a World XI that took on West Indies at Lord's, and his latest appearance for England goes further back, to February 2017 in a T20I against India in Bengaluru.

Chris Silverwood, the England men's head coach, said Mills' performances in the T20 Blast and The Hundred this season had cemented his position in the side. "Tymal Mills deserves his inclusion and has demonstrated over the past couple of years, but particularly this summer that he has all skills to succeed at this level," said Silverwood.

"His exceptional pace is a standout, and the way he has spearheaded Sussex and Southern Brave's respective attacks in the short-form game has shown that he relishes the pressures of the big stage. He will add variety to our bowling unit, and we can't wait to see him play in a major international tournament." 

Mills' pace will help England offset the loss of Jofra Archer, who has been sidelined for the rest of the year with an elbow injury. 

The big miss for England is Ben Stokes, the all-rounder, who will continue his indefinite break from cricket and prioritise his mental wellbeing. Chris Woakes takes his place in the squad, having made his return to T20I cricket after a gap of more than five years earlier this summer.

Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali will look to make the most of spin-friendly conditions in the UAE, with the all-rounder Liam Livingstone providing support. Chris Jordan and Mark Wood will be joined by left-armer David Willey, and Tom Curran (replacing brother Sam, originally in the squad) in a well-rounded attack.   

England, the runners-up of the 2016 men's T20 World Cup, will hope to go one better in the upcoming event. They will begin their campaign against defending champions West Indies on 23 October. 

Apart from West Indies, they are placed in Group 1 with South Africa and Australia, with the two qualifiers from Round 1 set to join them.

Video cwc19 14 Jul 21
CWC19 Final - Epic Montage

With the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2019 already in their trophy cabinet, the No.1-ranked T20I team will aim to add another piece of silverware this year.

"We are excited about the prospect of challenging to win the ICC T20 World Cup," said Silverwood. "I believe we have selected a squad that covers all bases and has the depth to be successful in what is expected to be a very competitive tournament featuring the best players in the world."

Video cwc19 30 Mar 16
Morgan dives to take brilliant catch

Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves: Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, James Vince

More News