Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

T20 World Cup

Ireland announce final 15-member squad for T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup

Hit For Six!

Ireland on Friday, 8 September announced their final 15-man squad for their ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 campaign.

On 9 September, Ireland had announced an extended 18-man provisional squad for their ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 campaign.

24-year-old leg-spinner Gareth Delany, who recently made a comeback having last played a T20I in March 2020, made the final cut. Andy McBrine, the 26-year-old off-spinner, was also included in the side, with Graham Ford, the Ireland coach, confirming he would provide cover for first-choice Simi Singh.

The uncapped spin-bowling all-rounder, Graham Kennedy, will be a part of the reserves.

"It was always going to be a very difficult decision to reduce the squad from 18 to 15 – every player out in Dubai at the moment has proven their talent and deserved their chance," said Andrew White, Chair of National Men’s Selectors. "The three players who have missed out will still have a role to play in supporting the core squad, and stay on within the team bubble as cover in case of injury or illness."

"Part of the selectors decision-making was around the conditions in both Abu Dhabi and Sharjah, but we also factored in [Head Coach] Graham Ford’s on-the-ground assessment of what he believes to be our most effective combination of players to win games of cricket."

"We are confident that the squad of players selected have the ability and the determination to take us into the next round of the tournament, but ultimately it will be about putting together performances that are deserving of it. We wish Fordy and the lads all the best for the challenge ahead, and we’re sure they will do Irish cricket proud."

Ireland will open their campaign against the Netherlands in Round 1 of the tournament on 18 October. They're also set to play Sri Lanka and Namibia in Group A, with the top two sides progressing to the Super12 stages. 

As part of their T20 World Cup preparations, Ireland are currently in the middle of a three-match T20I series against UAE and will also play two official warm-up matches, against Papua New Guinea (12 October) and Bangladesh (14 October). 

Squad: Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.

Reserve players: Shane Getkate, Graham Kennedy, Barry McCarthy.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!