Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Ramiz Raja

Ramiz Raja formally elected as PCB Chairman

Pakistan news

The former Pakistan captain and the Men's Cricket World Cup 1992 champion became the 36th Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board, on Monday, 13 September.

He was elected unanimously and unopposed for a three-year tenure in a Special Meeting presided by the PCB Election Commissioner, Justice (retd) Sheikh Azmat Saeed.

Raja, along with Asad Ali Khan, was nominated for the position by 1992 World Cup-winning captain Imran Khan on the PCB Board of Governors, and they were joined by Aasim Wajid Jawad, Alia Zafar, Arif Saeed, Javed Kurieshi (all independent members) and Wasim Khan (PCB Chief Executive).

Raja had previously served as the PCB CEO for a brief period in 2003-04, with Shahryar Khan as Chairman. 

Addressing the PCB BoG, Raja said: “I am thankful to all of you for electing me as the PCB Chairman and look forward to working with you to ensure Pakistan cricket continues to thrive and grow stronger, both on and off-the-field. 

“One of my key focuses will be to help introduce in the Pakistan men’s cricket team the same culture, mind-set, attitude and approach that once made Pakistan one of the most feared cricket playing nations. As an organisation, we all need to get behind the national team and provide them the desired assistance and support so that they can produce that brand of cricket, which the fans also expect from them each time they step on to the field of play.

“Obviously, as a former cricketer, my other priority will be to look into the welfare of our past and present cricketers. The game has and will always be about the cricketers and, as such, they deserve more recognition and respect from their parent institution.”

Raja represented Pakistan from 1984 to 1997, featuring in 57 Tests and 198 ODIs and scoring 8674 runs. He also captained Pakistan in five Tests and 22 ODIs.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!