Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games

Birmingham 2022 cricket to open with Australia v India

Commonwealth Games

Hit For Six!

The schedule of the eight-team women's T20 cricket competition at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games has been announced.

T20 World Champions Australia will take on runners-up India in the opening match of the competition on 29 July.

This will be followed by Pakistan facing Barbados, the national team confirmed to take part from the West Indies.

Hosts England will play their first match on 30 July, against a qualifier, who will be decided by a qualifying tournament in early 2022. 

The semi-finals will be on 6 August, and the final on 7 August. There will also be a bronze medal match earlier on 7 August.

All matches will be at Edgbaston.

Apart from the qualifier, the teams taking part are Australia, India, Pakistan, Barbados (all in Group A), New Zealand, South Africa and England (Group B, along with qualifier).

This edition of the Commonwealth Games is the first in which women's cricket and T20 cricket make an appearance.

The schedule is as follows:

Group A

Australia v India: Friday 29 July, 11:00
Pakistan v Barbados: Friday 29 July, 18:00  

India v Pakistan: Sunday 31 July, 11:00 
Barbados v Australia: Sunday 31 July, 18:00

Australia v Pakistan: Wednesday 3 August, 11:00
India v Barbados: Wednesday 3 August, 18:00 

Group B

New Zealand v South Africa: Saturday 30 July, 11:00
England v CWGQ: Saturday 30 July, 18:00 

England v South Africa: Tuesday 2 August, 11:00
CWGQ v New Zealand: Tuesday 2 August, 18:00

South Africa v CWGQ: Thursday 4 August, 11:00
England v New Zealand: Thursday 4 August, 18:00

Semi-final 1: Saturday 6 August, 11:00
Semi-final 2: Saturday 6 August, 18:00 

Bronze medal match: Sunday 7 August, 10:00
Final: Sunday 7 August, 17:00

(All times local.)


More News