Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Jimmy Anderson, Stuart Broad
World Test Championship

Veteran pace duo returns in England’s 12-man squad for Adelaide Test

England news

Hit For Six!

Stuart Broad and Jimmy Anderson have been included in England’s 12-man squad for the second Ashes Test, a day-night encounter in Adelaide, starting on Thursday, 16 December.

England had gone in without the veteran pace duo for the first Test in Brisbane – Broad was recovering from an injury and Anderson was rested. England lost the match by nine wickets, Australia chasing down the 20-run target in the final innings. 

The return of the duo provides a boost to the side ahead of the Adelaide clash. Mark Wood, who returned a commendable 3/85 in the first innings, has been rested.


Catch every match of the Men's and Women's Ashes on in select regions

With Ollie Robinson and Chris Woakes also in the squad as pace options, alongside Broad and Anderson and the all-rounder Ben Stokes, it remains to be seen who will miss out on the final XI. 

The loss in the first Test was a devastating one for England – they were bowled out for 147 in the first innings after opting to bat, and never really recovered. 

Captain Joe Root and Dawid Malan put up a fight in the second innings after Australia posted a first-innings lead of 278. However, a collapse from the rest of the line-up meant the home side could seal out an easy nine-wicket victory within four days.

England squad: Joe Root (c), Jimmy Anderson, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wk), Haseeb Hameed, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes.


Crictos official marketplace is now open!

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!