Kieron Pollard

Pollard returns as West Indies name squads for Ireland, England series

West Indies news

Hit For Six!

West Indies limited-overs captain Kieron Pollard has made a comeback to the squads for the limited-overs series against Ireland and England.

The Caribbean outfit will host Ireland for three ODIs and a one-off T20I before a five-match T20I series against England. The nine matches will take place between January 8 to 30. 

Pollard had missed the tour of Pakistan after suffering a hamstring injury. He has now recovered from the injury and will be fit to face Ireland and England. In his absence, Nicholas Pooran led the side in the T20Is against Pakistan while Shai Hope was set to lead the side in the ODIs before a postponement due to COVID. 

Jason Holder is also back in both the ODI and T20I squads while Fabian Allen has also been passed fit to take part in the T20Is against England. 

Watch South Africa v India on

Get access to every game in the series as South Africa host India

There is no recall for all-rounder Andre Russell. Obed McCoy will be unavailable as he completes his rehabilitation from a shin injury while Evin Lewis and Anderson Phillip are unavailable due to recent positive COVID tests. 

On the selections, head coach Phil Simmons said: "We have tried to maintain the general make-up of the squads from the Pakistan Tour before Christmas, with the captain and some senior players coming back in. COVID-19 has also played a part in the final make-up of the squad. The challenges in the next couple of months are getting the young players in both squads to not only improve on their skills but maintain the attitude and desire we saw in Pakistan.

“We do need to start the year on a high. And we know both Ireland and England have very good teams, so we expect a very strong challenge as we look to improve our chances of automatic qualification for the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2023 and building the T20 team for the ICC T20 World Cup in 2022.”

West Indies squad for Ireland ODIs: Kieron Pollard (capt), Shai Hope, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas

Reserves: Keacy Carty, Sheldon Cottrell
West Indies squad for Ireland and England T20Is: Kieron Pollard (capt), Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen (England T20Is only), Darren Bravo (England T20Is only), Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Jason Holder, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr
Reserves: Jayden Seales, Alzarri Joseph, Devon Thomas

Share Your Thoughts!

Tell us what you think about the T20 Website and App for a chance to win prizes

More News