Temba Bavuma

No Temba Bavuma in South Africa squads for multi-format assignment against England

South Africa news

Hit For Six!

South Africa's white-ball captain Temba Bavuma will miss the forthcoming tour to England with an elbow injury.

Bavuma, who sustained an elbow injury during the recently-concluded series against India, requires a recovery period of eight weeks. In his absence, Cricket South Africa have named David Miller and Keshav Maharaj as stand-in captains for T20I and ODI series respectively.

South Africa's two-month-long tour features three ODIs followed by three T20Is before contesting a three-match ICC World Test Championship series. The tour commences on 19 July. 

Two notable inclusions in the T20I squad are uncapped Gerald Coetzee, a 21-year-old fast bowler and Rilee Rossouw, who last represented South Africa on the international stage in 2016. 

"The T20 format is a high priority for us at the moment," said selection convener Victor Mpitsang. "We are looking to give opportunities to players that we are interested in seeing and working out the best combinations, while also trying to balance our desire to maintain enough consistency within the set-up that the players are used to playing together as a team by the time they reach Australia for the World Cup."

T20WC 2022 Fixtures

Click here to see the full fixtures for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022.

Kagiso Rabada has been rested from the ODI leg while Tristan Stubbs, who made his international debut earlier this month against India, has retained his spot.

South Africa are currently second on the WTC standings with a win percentage of 71.43, behind table-toppers Australia.

ODI Squad: Keshav Maharaj (c), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo, Kyle Verreynne .

T20I Squad: David Miller (c), Gerald Coetzee , Quinton de Kock , Reeza Hendricks , Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj , Aiden Markram , Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw , Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen.

Test Squad: Dean Elgar (c), Sarel Erwee, Marco Jansen, Simon Harmer, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Duanne Olivier, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Lutho Sipamla, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Khaya Zondo, Glenton Stuurman


ICC Crictos official marketplace is now open!


More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!