Big names missing from India's squad for West Indies T20Is

India news

Hit For Six!

India have named an 18-member squad for the five-match T20I series against West Indies.

KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav have been named in the side, albeit their participation is subject to their fitness, but Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal are among those missing.

R Ashwin, who last played a T20I in November 2021, has also been added to the squad alongside other spin options like Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja.

Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya, who have been rested for the ODI leg of the tour, find a place in the T20I side.

Video cwc19 10 Jun 22
Should Dinesh Karthik make India’s T20WC squad? | The ICC Review

IPL sensation Umran Malik, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Sanju Samson are missing from the list as well. All three were a part of India's squad for the first T20I against England.

However, left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh has been rewarded after his impressive debut against England in the opening T20I, where he returned 2/18.

Video cwc19 10 Jun 22
What's ailing Virat Kohli? | The ICC Review

India and West Indies will play five T20Is, with the final two matches being played in Lauderhill in Florida, United States.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh


Visit to collect iconic moments from ICC Cricket history!

More News