Sri Lanka finalise squad for upcoming Commonwealth Games

Sri Lanka women news

Hit For Six!

All the squads for the Commonwealth Games have been finalised after Sri Lanka lodged their 15-player squad for the upcoming tournament on Tuesday.

It's a similar squad to the one that fell to a 2-1 T20I series defeat at home to India last month, with star batter Chamari Athapaththu once again named captain for the Birmingham event.

Teenage opener Vishmi Gunaratne is expected to partner Athapaththu at the top of the batting order after she impressed during her first series against India, while young all-rounder Kavisha Dilhari has also been included.

Left-arm spinner Inoka Ranaweera will headline the Sri Lanka bowling unit, with veteran off-spinner Oshadi Ranasinghe also included in the squad to provide support.

Video cwc19 13 Feb 20
Sri Lanka Women winning moment and celebrations

Sri Lanka have been entered in Group B of the 10-day tournament, with their first match coming up against hosts England at Edgbaston on July 30.

Sri Lanka Commonwealth Games squad: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, Malsha Shehani, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Rashmi de Silva, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Anushka Sanjeewani  


ICC Crictos official marketplace is now open!


More News