Afghanistan begin T20 World Cup preparation; unveil squad for Ireland T20Is

Afghanistan News

Hit For Six!

Afghanistan have named a 16-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I assignment against Ireland, starting 9 August.

All the five T20Is are slated to be played in Belfast which will form a vital part of their preparation for the Asia Cup and the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Australia later this year. Star spinner Mujeeb ur Rahman is awaiting his visa and has been named on the reserve list. 

T20WC 2022 Fixtures

Click here to see the full fixtures for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022.

"We have had good results in our recent tours, the squad has done well recently and we are looking forward to having good results again in our next series against Ireland," said ACB Chief Selector Noor Malikza, "Mujeeb’s visa is not yet issued and thus he has been added to reserve players. Once the problem is resolved, he will be included back in the main squad," he added.

Players making a return to the T20I mix are Fareed Ahmad, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Ibrahim Zadran, and Naveen-ul-Haq. Ibrahim is making a return to the shortest format after last representing the side in 2019 while the others made their last T20I appearances in 2021. 

Afghanistan tour of Ireland

Live and FREE on Ireland v Afghanistan in 5 T20Is

Noor Ahmad, the 17-year-old left-arm wrist spinner, who represented Afghanistan at this year's ICC U19 Men's Cricket World Cup, has retained his spot after an impressive performance in his debut match for the senior side. In his only T20I match, against Zimbabwe in Harare in June, the spinner returned a sensational 4/10. 

Video cwc19 15 Jun 22
Best of Afghanistan's Noor Ahmad | ICC U19 Men's CWC 2022


Mohammad Nabi (c), Afsar Zazai, Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan and Sharafuddin Ashraf.

Reserves: Mujeeb ur Rahman, Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Usman Ghani. 


09 August – 1st T20I, Belfast
11 August – 2nd T20I, Belfast
12 August – 3rd T20I, Belfast
15 August – 4th T20I, Belfast
17 August – 5th T20I, Belfast

How to watch on 

The Ireland v Afghanistan T20Is will all be shown live and FREE on in Afghanistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

It is free to Sign Up to 

You can then watch series like the Afghanistan tour of Ireland, live cricket from around the globe and highlights of classic matches on:

* website
* mobile apps (available in the App Store and Google Play)
* Samsung TV and LG TV apps


ICC Crictos official marketplace is now open!

More News