T20 World Cup

Australia recall star quartet for upcoming West Indies series

Australia news

Hit For Six!

Australia have upped the ante in their quest to retain their ICC Men’s T20 World Cup crown by recalling a quartet of big guns for their upcoming two-match T20I series at home against the West Indies.

The series will form a crucial period for Australia ahead of the start of the T20 World Cup next month and selectors have opted to recall four players that missed the recent three-game series in India.

Video ICC Review 05 Sep 22
Ricky Ponting’s first five players for World T20I XI | ICC Review

Opener David Warner, all-rounders Mitchell Marsh and Marcus Stoinis, and veteran pacer Mitchell Starc all return to the fold, while young star Cameron Green will get another chance to prove his T20I credentials as he is also included in the 16-player squad.

Green is currently not named in Australia's 15-player squad for the T20 World Cup, but impressed with two half centuries while playing as an opener against India in the absence of the resting Warner and could still feature during the four-week event on home soil if he can continue to perform well.

Right-arm quick Kane Richardson and spinner Ashton Agar are rested for the two matches on the Gold Coast (October 5) and at The Gabba (October 7), with veteran batter Aaron Finch once again captaining the side.

Former Australia batter and National Selection Panel Chair George Bailey said the series against the West Indies will be vital match practice ahead of the T20 World Cup.

"We have and are taking a cautious approach with the World Cup on the near horizon," Bailey said.

"To have four key players return gives us the ability to take a conservative path with any minor issues and resolve those well in time for the World Cup.

"As such we anticipate Kane and Ashton will return for the following series against England."

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Watch Australia v South Africa Highlights

Watch Highlights of Each Day of the Three Tests for FREE on (in select regions)


Visit to collect iconic moments from ICC Cricket history!


More News