Australia Squad
World Test Championship

Uncapped spinner named as Australia sweat on Starc and Green

Australia v India, World Test Championship

Hit For Six!

Australia have named an 18-man group for the Border-Gavaskar series in India, including 22-year-old Todd Murphy as they anxiously wait on the fitness of Mitchell Starc and Cameron Green.

Off-spinner Murphy storms into the group after a strong start to his First Class career, joining Ashton Agar and Mitchell Swepson as potential spin partners for Nathan Lyon. Murphy and the rest of the spin group were preferred over Adam Zampa.

Australian Chairman of Selectors George Bailey says Murphy’s selection is a nod to his strong start across Sheffield Shield action, and for his efforts for Australia A and the Prime Minister’s XI.

“Todd Murphy has progressed quickly having impressed in domestic cricket and recently with Australia A. With those performances Todd has emerged as a strong spin option.

“Selection in this squad also provides another opportunity to spend time alongside Nathan Lyon and assistant coach Daniel Vettori in India which will be invaluable to his development.”

Uncapped quick Lance Morris keeps his place in the squad after Australia’s home tour, and is a chance of a debut at least for the first Test in Nagpur with news that Mitchell Starc will not join the squad until after the first Test as he recovers from tendon damage to his left middle finger.

Batters Peter Handscomb and Matt Renshaw will back up the top six in the touring squad, with Marcus Harris, a member of Australia's squad for their home summer, left out.

All-rounder Cameron Green is also in a race to be fit, though could make the opening Test in spite of a fractured right index finger during the Boxing Day Test against South Africa.

Australia Test squad for tour of India: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australia Tour of India 2023

February 9-13: First Test
February 17-21: Second Test
March 1-5: Third Test
March 9-13: Fourth Test

March 17: First ODI
March 19: Second ODI
March 22: Third ODI


More News