World Test Championship

Two major inclusions in India's squad for Australia Tests

India news

Hit For Six!

India have named a 17-member Test squad for the home series against Australia that begins next month.

India have handed a Test call-up to Suryakumar Yadav and wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan for the first two home Tests against Australia that will be crucial in deciding the ICC World Test Championship finalists.

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been named in the squad but his inclusion is subject to his fitness ahead of the series. 

With Rishabh Pant out of action following the car accident last month, India named Kishan in the Test squad, which also has regular Test backup KS Bharat as another wicketkeeping option.

Aside from Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, who is a regular feature in home Tests, and Kuldeep Yadav form the spin attack.

Jasprit Bumrah continues his rehabilitation and hasn't been named in the squad. The pace attack has Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami and Mohammed Siraj with recently recalled Jaydev Unadkat as a left-arm option.

The series is a big one for both teams as they look to nail down a spot in the WTC final. The series begins in Nagpur on February 9 with Tests in Delhi, Dharamsala and Ahmedabad.

India’s Test squad for the first two Tests against Australia: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.

More News