Women's T20 World Cup

South Africa name strong 15-member squad for T20 World Cup

Women’s T20 World Cup

Hit For Six!

The Proteas have named a 15-player squad for the upcoming ICC Women's T20 World Cup on home soil.

Semi-finalists at the 2014 and 2020 T20 World Cups, South Africa were also in the final four at last year’s 50-over Cricket World Cup. 

One of the biggest questions surrounding the tournament hosts will be who walks out to open the batting with Laura Wolvaardt, with Lizelle Lee departing the international scene in July last year. 

Video cwc19 06 Apr 22
The best of Laura Wolvaardt | CWC22

Tazmin Brits has shown her qualities with scores in recent action against the West Indies, while Anneke Bosch may be utilised in spite of low scores when given opportunities up the order in their build-up.

The side boast power in the middle order through the work of Chloe Tryon and Marizanne Kapp, while skipper Sune Luus holds the batting lineup together with a mix of force and control.

Video cwc19 08 Apr 22
The best of Marizanne Kapp | CWC22

With the trio all more than capable with ball in hand, the side boasts a bowling depth few teams can match. Kapp will likely take the new ball with spearhead Shabnim Ismail, as Ayabonga Khaka continues to prove her mettle on the international stage. Nonkululeko Mlaba’s left-arm orthodox will prove vital in the campaign, as Luus, Tryon, and even Nadine de Klerk chime in with their spin.

The side is still without the services of talismanic all-rounder Dane van Niekerk, who missed out on selection for failing to meet South Africa's fitness requirements.

A semi-final appearance will be the minimum expectation for South Africa, though would likely have to overcome either New Zealand or Australia for a top two spot.

South Africa open the tournament on February 10 against Sri Lanka in Cape Town. They then take on New Zealand and Australia on February 13 and 18 respectively, before facing Bangladesh on February 21.

South Africa squad: Annerie Dercksen, Marizanne Kapp, Lara Goodall, Ayabonga Khaka, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Shabnim Ismail, Tazmin Brits, Masabata Klaas, Laura Wolvaardt, Sinalo Jafta, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Sune Luus (c), Anneke Bosch, Delmi Tucker.

Non-traveling reserves: Micaéla Andrews, Tebogo Macheke, Tumi Sekhukhune.


More News