New Zealand name squad for ODI series against Pakistan

New Zealand news

Hit For Six!

Tom Latham will lead the new-look side for the five-match away ODI series against Pakistan, starting 27 April.

New Zealand will be without the services of a host of their regular stars, who are currently busy with their respective franchise commitments in the IPL. The Blackcaps will be without the likes of skipper Kane Williamson (who injured his knee), Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner and Finn Allen. 

Latham though will bank on the services of experienced players like Daryl Mitchell, Matt Henry, James Neesham, Henry Nicholls and Ish Sodhi. 

New Zealand have also included two potential debutants in Ben Lister and Cole McConchie. 

Head coach Gary Stead said on the tour, "We’ve enjoyed a number of exciting matches against Pakistan across both white ball formats in the last season home and way. They are a tough team no matter where you take them on.

"The successful ODI Series earlier this year in Pakistan provided big learning opportunities for the players and having more ODI match experience is fantastic in a World Cup year."

The five-match ODI series will begin on 27 April in Rawalpindi and conclude on 7 May in Karachi. It will be preceded by a five-match T20I series between 14-24 April. 

New Zealand ODI squad: Tom Latham (c), Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young.


More News