Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Akila Dananjaya celebrates the dismissal .jpg

Sri Lanka assign 33 national contracts with pay hike

Sri Lanka news

Hit For Six!

Sri Lanka Cricket, who have named a 33-man list of contracted players, have confirmed an increase in match fees and salaries after a strong financial year.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) have raised the wages of national players by 34 per cent for the period of 2018/19 following strong results achieved during the concluded financial year.

Having installed a performance-based salary model in 2017, a now-financially stable SLC will now pay their players more than the previous amount, which includes an increase in match fees also. 

“Since Sri Lanka Cricket has made good financial gains during the concluded financial year, we thought it is appropriate to give a pay raise for the players, as they are making a major contribution towards the growth of Sri Lanka Cricket,” said SLC President Thilanga Sumathipala.

Angelo Mathews has been awarded a Category 'A' contract
Angelo Mathews has been awarded a Category 'A' contract

33 players have been awarded new contracts, which fall under five categories – A, B, C, D and Premier – and are allocated as thus: 

Category A: Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Dimuth Karunaratne.

Category B: Upul Tharanga, Dilruwan Perera.

Category C: Kusal Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dananjaya De Silva, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera.

Category D: Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Asela Gunaratne, Danushka Gunathilaka, Nuwan Pradeep.

Premier category: Sadeera Samarawickrama, Roshen Silva, Lahiru Thirimane, Lahiru Gamage, Vishwa Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Jeffery Vandersay, Dasun Shanaka, Kaushal Silva, Shehan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Malintha Pushpakumara, Amila Aponso, Wanidu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Dilshan Munaweera.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!