Elton Chigumbura

Chigumbura named in Zimbabwe squad for T20I tri-series

Zimbabwe news

Hit For Six!

Brendan Taylor, Sikandar Raza among those excluded from 22-man squad for clash against Australia and Pakistan

Zimbabwe, on Wednesday, 20 June, named a 22-man squad for the T20I tri-series at home against Australia and Pakistan.

The squad is set to be further trimmed to 15 by Monday, but as such is missing several notable names. Brendan Taylor and Sikandar Raza were prominent absentees, as were Sean Williams, Craig Ervine and Graeme Cremer, who was stripped of captaincy in March after Zimbabwe’s failure to qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

Elton Chigumbura, who last played for Zimbabwe in 2016, and Hamilton Masakadza returned to the squad.

Zimbabwe Cricket, in its release, said: “The selectors picked the squad from the players who participated in the 20-over tournament involving two local sides, the Zimbabwe Select and Board XI, and Kenya.

Graeme Cremer was stripped of captaincy after Zimbabwe failed to qualify for the World Cup
Graeme Cremer was stripped of captaincy after Zimbabwe failed to qualify for the World Cup

"Players involved in competitive cricket abroad who made themselves available for selection were also considered.”

The squad began a training camp in Harare on Wednesday, under the supervision of Lalchand Rajput, the new Zimbabwe head coach and former India international.

The tri-series will begin on 1 July in Harare, with the final to be played on 8 July at the same venue.

Squad: Cephas Zhuwao, Chamu Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Tarisai Musakanda, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Elton Chigumbura, Malcolm Waller, Brian Chari, Peter Moor, Donald Tiripano, Wellington Masakadza, Tendai Chisoro, Blessing Muzarabani, Ryan Murray, Kyle Jarvis, Chris Mpofu, Prince Masvaure, John Nyumbu, Ryan Burl, Brandon Mavuta, Rugare Magarira.

More News