Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

India v WI

Windies to kick off all-format India tour with Rajkot Test

Ind v WI, news

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Tuesday, 4 September, announced the full list of international fixtures for Windies’ tour of India, starting with a Test in Rajkot on 4 October.

The tour includes two Tests, five one-day internationals and three Twenty20 Internationals, and runs till 11 November.

The five-day game in Rajkot will be followed by one in Hyderabad from 12 October. A four-day break then leads into the limited-overs matches.

India and the Windies will play two Tests
India and the Windies will play two Tests

With focus turning to preparation for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England and Wales, which is less than a year away, the teams will play the most number of games in the ODI format. The hosts are ranked No.2 on the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings, while the men from the Caribbean, having missed out on direct qualification for the World Cup, sealed their place in the qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe earlier this year and are at No.9.

The tour closes with three T20Is, in Kolkata, Lucknow and Chennai. It will mark the first time the Windies are returning to India since their triumphant ICC World T20 2016 title win at Eden Gardens.

Video cwc19 31 Mar 16
Cricket Highlights from West Indies Innings v India ICC WT20 2016
Watch West Indies Innings Highlights against India in this Match 34 video from the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016.

The semi-final of that tournament was the first – and so far only – time the two teams have met in the 20-over format in India, although several West Indian players have experience of playing in the Indian Premier League.

The visitors have already announced their 15-man squad for the two-Test series.

Fixtures and schedule

1st Test: 4-8 October, Rajkot
2nd Test: 12-16 October, Hyderabad

1st ODI: 21 October, Guwahati
2nd ODI: 24 October, Indore
3rd ODI: 27 October, Pune
4th ODI: 29 October, Mumbai
5th ODI: 1 November, Thiruvananthapuram

1st T20I: 4 November, Kolkata
2nd T20I: 6 November, Lucknow
3rd T20I: 11 November, Chennai

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!