Official ICC App

Sri Lanka women

Chamari Athapaththu back to lead Sri Lanka against India

Sri Lanka Women, news

Sri Lanka have announced a 15-player squad, to be led by Chamari Athapaththu, for the forthcoming one-day international home series against India.

The three-match series, which will be a part of the ICC Women's Championship, will start in Galle on 11 September. The series will travel to the suburban city of Katunayake for the finale on 16 September before the two teams play five Twenty20 Internationals from 19 September in Katunayake and Colombo.

The team has been bolstered by the return of regular captain Athapaththu, who missed the women's Asia Cup T20 in June due to an illness.

The squad features a fair bit of experience – Athapaththu, Hasini Perera and Nipuni Hansika at the top of the batting order, and the middle order of Shashikala Siriwardena and Anushka Sanjeewani.

Chamari Athapaththu will lead the side in both the ODIs and the T20Is
Chamari Athapaththu will lead the side in both the ODIs and the T20Is

On the bowling front, there's pace in the form of Ama Kanchana, Udeshika Prabodhini and Sripali Weerakkody, while the spin attack will be led by Inoka Ranaweera. The 17-year-old off-spinner, Kavisha Dilhari, who has only played one ODI, has also been included in the squad. 

Squad: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Prasadani Weerakkody, Anushka Sanjeewani, Nipuni Hansika, Hasini Perera, Dilani Manodara, Shashikala Siriwardena, Nilakshi De Silva, Imalka Mendis, Sripali Weerakkody, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhini, Ama Kanchana, Kavisha Dilhari


11 September: 1st ODI, Galle International Cricket Stadium
13 September: 2nd ODI, Galle International Cricket Stadium
16 September: 3rd ODI, MCG – Katunayake
19 September: 1st T20I, MCG – Katunayake
21 September: 2nd T20I, Colts Colombo
22 September: 3rd T20I, Colombo – CCC
24 September: 4th T20I, Colombo – CCC
25 September: 5th T20I, MCG – Katunayake


More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!