Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Corey Anderson.

Anderson, Phillips added to New Zealand T20I squad

New Zealand news

Hit For Six!

Corey Anderson and Glenn Phillips have been added to the New Zealand Twenty20 International squad to take on Pakistan in a three-match series starting 31 October.

All-rounder Anderson, who is leading the New Zealand A team on their tour of the United Arab Emirates to face Pakistan A, and wicket-keeper batsman Phillips, who is also part of that squad, will play the remaining two one-day games before linking up with the national team, making it a squad of 13.

New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said that the two have been rewarded for strong performances in the ongoing 'A' series. While Anderson has returned 16, 0, 22 and 38 with the bat and 0/8, 1/23 and 2/34 with the ball in the four games he has played on the tour, Phillips has scores of 4, 53, 69* and 0 and, before that, ended the Caribbean Premier League 2018 as the second highest scorer with 457 runs.

"Corey and Glenn are in good form and have performed well in the local conditions over the past couple of weeks," Larsen said. "They obviously bring plenty of firepower, but their versatility will also give the squad the desired balance."

Anderson, who underwent a surgery to his spine last year and last turned out for New Zealand during the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, said it's "a great feeling" to be picked after a long layoff. "It’s obviously been a long road back and after the surgery there were some long, tedious days," he said.

"But this is what the rehab is for and to be picked again is a great feeling."

Glenn Phillips will be the reserve wicket-keeper in the squad
Glenn Phillips will be the reserve wicket-keeper in the squad

Larsen agreed with Anderson, saying the 27-year-old is "more than ready" for the rigours of international cricket. "Corey’s had a really good winter playing in the UK and training back at home, and has shown on the New Zealand A tour he’s more than ready for the rigours of international cricket," he said.

Kane Williamson will lead New Zealand, who have Ross Taylor, Colin Munro, Colin de Grandhomme, Ish Sodhi, Adam Milne and Tim Southee as the experienced players, while Mark Chapman, Seth Rance, Tim Seifert, and Lockie Ferguson are the relatively fresh faces.

Kane Williamson will lead the 13-member squad
Kane Williamson will lead the 13-member squad

Martin Guptill has been ruled out of the series with a left calf strain and so New Zealand will be missing their prime opening batsman against the No.1 team on the MRF Tyres ICC T20I Team Rankings. Also missing from the squad is fast bowler Trent Boult.

The remaining two T20Is will be played on 2 and 4 November and the series will be followed by three one-day internationals from 7 November, the squad for which will be announced later.

Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Corey Anderson, Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Seth Rance, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!