Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

PCB names 30-man squad for ICC WT20

Shoaib Malik and Kamran Akmal named in the preliminary squad
The Pakistan Cricket Board today announced a 30-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 to be held in Bangladesh from March 16 to April 6. 

Wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal and former captain Shoaib Malik, were named in Pakistan's preliminary squad, while allrounder Abdul Razzaq failed to find a place after having left the South Africa tour last year due to a hamstring injury last year. Malik was forced to leave Pakistan's T20 squad in South Africa last year due to a thumb injury too.

Malik was captain of Pakistan in the inaugural World Twenty20 in South Africa in 2007, where it was beaten by India in the final. After being left out of the ODI squad for the Champions Trophy in England last year, Kamran found himself out of favour with the selectors.

The Pakistan team is expected to be led Mohammad Hafeez who led Pakistan to a semifinal finish in the 2012 World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka. 

Pakistan were crowned World Twenty20 champions in the 2009 edition of the event in England.

Preliminary squad: Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmad Shahzad, Sharjeel Khan, Shahzaib Hasan, Nasir Jamshaid, Khurram Manzoor, Shoaib Malik, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Harris Sohail, Yasir Arafat, Yasir Shah, Hammad Azam, Kamran Akmal, Shahid Khan Afridi, Zohaib Ahmed, Sohail Tanveer, Mohammad Irfan, Umar Gul, Junaid Khan, Bilawal Bhatti, Anwar Ali, Asad Ali, Ehsan Adil, Mohammad Talha, Saeed Ajmal, Zulfiqar Babar, Raza Hasan, Abdul Rehman, Sarfaraz Ahmed.

More News

Live Cricket

ICC on Social