Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

New Zealand Women

Two uncapped players in White Ferns ODI squad for England series

New Zealand Women news

White Ferns named a 13-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against England, starting 23 February.

Top-order batter Brooke Halliday and left-arm spinner Fran Jonas have earned a maiden call-up to the White Ferns side on the back of their recent domestic form. 

Halliday enjoyed a consistent run of form with the bat and is the second-highest run-getter in the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield 2020-21, New Zealand Women's one-day domestic tournament. While Jonas has the joint-second most wickets this season.

White Ferns head coach Bob Carter expressed excitement over the addition of two new talents in the side: "Brooke and Fran both deserve their call-ups on the back of strong domestic form," he said.

"Brooke’s done a superb job at the top of the order for the Spirit and offers a point of difference as a left-hander. Fran’s an exceptional talent who’s proven she can foot it with our top players. It’s exciting to add a left-arm spinner to our squad and the balance that offers our bowling attack.

"This is a great chance for them to come in and develop their games. We’ve selected them for a reason and look forward to welcoming them into the group.

"With the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand next year, we want to take this opportunity to build the best possible team for the tournament,” he added.

The team will be led by Sophie Devine and will be without the services of Suzie Bates, who is recovering from a shoulder injury while Rosemary Mair will also miss the series due to a side strain.

Squad: Sophie Devine (c), Natalie Dodd, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Frankie Mackay, Katey Martin, Hannah Rowe, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!